You are here: Home / Do Research / Subject Guides / Food and Recipes

Food and Recipes

Links to cooking and eating information.
Epicurious
Everything for food lovers - cooking videos, recipes, articles, cookbook reviews, and information on wine and restaurants.
All Recipes
This site has recipes, menu ideas, meal preparation tips, cooking terms, and more. Sections include: appetizer, barbecue, bread, cake, Christmas, cookie, ethnic, holiday, etc., special diet recipes including diabetic; dairy-, egg-, gluten-, and sugar-free; vegan; and vegetarian. Users can create their own meal planning resource that allows them "to store, organize, rank, review, and share their favorite recipes." Recipes show nutrition facts, and a shopping list can be created from a recipe. Searchable.
BBC Food
Articles, recipes, and other food-related information from the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC). Features a searchable and browsable directory of recipes from the BBC's cooking shows, including vegetarian and seasonal dishes. Also offers interviews with chefs, feature articles, program details, a glossary, and sections on healthy eating, children's nutrition, and cooking basics.
American Heart Association (AHA): Delicious Decisions
A site for learning how to eat right, stay fit, and establish good habits for a lifetime. Features the AHA Food Pyramid, grocery shopping advice, recipes, heart-healthy tips for dining out, and suggestions for a fitness routine. From the American Heart Association.
Cook's Thesaurus
Substitutions for thousands of cooking ingredients, including low-calorie and low-fat alternatives for dieters, inexpensive substitutes for gourmet cooks on a budget, and innovative replacements for hard-to-find ethnic ingredients. Searchable and browsable.
Wine Lover’s Page
Learn all about wine with links that include a pronouncing glossary, vineyard weather, food-wine matches, and tasting notes on over 50,000 wines.
Food & Nutrition Information Center
This directory site has links to surveys, statistics, and data on food consumption in America, and how it has changed over time. Includes links to information about income and food expenditures, food safety, and targeted nutrition surveys of children, the elderly, and minority groups. From the National Agricultural Library, U.S. Department of Agriculture.
RecipeSource (formerly SOAR)
The Searchable Online Archive of Recipes currently indexes around 70,000 recipes, including those for restricted diets, kids, special occasions - even treats for your pet. Particularly useful for browsing ethnic recipes.
Food Network
A great resource for looking up a recipe, a list of the top ten most requested recipes, looking up information about shows that you see on the Food Network, cookbooks that are available for purchase, as well as other resources.